#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 3rd, 2021



## Announcing JS8Call as the winner of Amateur Radio Software Award

ARSA committee is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2nd annual Amateur Radio Software Award to Jordan Sherer, KN4CRD, and his project, JS8Call.

The award committee has considered numerous factors in choosing this year's winner, including the project's impact on furthering the interests of amateur radio, innovation, and community involvement.

JS8Call is a full-fledged weak-signal digital communication application for amateur radio operators. In the spirit of open-source, Jordan extended the popular FT8 protocol instead of reinventing the wheel. During the 5 years of development, JS8Call has become a new tool for ARES function and cultivated a community of radio enthusiasts for digital communications. Jordan's work on JS8Call provides important innovation to advance the art of radio in the digital field. JS8Call is licensed under GPLv3 and can be freely downloaded at http://js8call.com.

The ARSA committee is proud to present the 2021 Amateur Radio Software Award Certificate and an award grant of \$300 to Jordan Sherer, the project owner and core contributor of the JS8Call application.

We are looking forward to next year's Amateur Radio Software Award. Input and nominations for future awards are welcome. Be sure to visit our website https://arsaward.com for further information about the award.

#### About the Award

The Amateur Radio Software Award is an annual international award for the recognition of software projects that enhance amateur radio. The award aims to promote amateur radio software development which adheres to the same spirit as amateur radio itself: innovative, free, and open.

# **Special Event Station**

We are operating the special event stations K2A, K2R, and K2S from Friday, August 27th through Sunday, September 5th, 2021 to promote innovative, free, and open amateur radio software. During the event, we will honor the 2021 award recipient. As part of the special event, we encourage people to submit nominations for the 2022 Amateur Radio Software Award.

### **Award Committee**

Claus Niesen, AEOS (since 2020) Kun Lin, N7DMR (since 2020) Rich Gordon, K0EB (since 2021)